

UTAH ASSOCIATION FOR ADULT, COMMUNITY, AND CONTINUING EDUCATION AWARD CATEGORIES FOR 2011

Award Nominations are due by September 15th each year

ZADA HAWS COMMUNITY SERVICE AWARD: This award is given annually to an individual who has provided quality volunteer service to his/her community over an extended period of time as demonstrated by the late Zada Haws, a founding member of UAACCE. Recipients of this award include Frank Cereska, Connie Carrasco, Elmer Knowles, Zada Haws, Kay McDonough, Charles King, Mary Hausen, Gordon Helmstrom, Dennis Sampson, Roberta Peterson, Nikki Lovell, and Lorna Evans.

ORGANIZATION AWARD: This award is given annually to an organization or agency that has provided exemplary leadership in the development of lifelong learning services. Recipients of this award include KSL Radio/Television, Provo City Library, Utah Museum of Natural History, Weber Basin Job Corps Center, Southwest Center For Drug Free Schools and Communities, Granite Adult and Community Education, Bridgerland Literacy, Utah Society for Environmental Education, Literacy Action Center, Southpointe High School, The Utah Education Network, the Salt Lake Community College/Utah State Prison, Draper, USU Extension Cache County 4-H, the State of Utah National Institute of Corrections Committee, and SLC School District Community Education.

PROFESSIONAL LEADERSHIP AWARD: This award is given annually to a professional educator who has provided exemplary leadership for adult, community or continuing education in his/her agency or organization. Recipients include Else Bauer, Boyce Yanik, Gary Wixom, Shauna Ballou, Joe Rickards, Laird Hartman, Suzanne Makishi, Larue Gurr, Krista Rodin-Popich, Linda Conway, Beverly Peck, Richard Henstrom, Brian Cheesman, Sidnee Spencer, Lynn Schiffman, Barbara Floisand, Richard Kimber, Susan Patterson, Lou Workman, Jeri Swalberg, Richard Scoville, B. Wayne Mifflin, Barbara Fish, Sandra Grant, Jeffery Galli, Lenora Plothow, Kim Dohrer, Pamela J. Gardner, Sue Brooks, and Luella Jones.

<u>UAACCE PROFESSIONAL AWARD:</u> This award is given annually to professionals in the fields of adult, community and continuing education who have demonstrated exemplary performance in their job roles. Three awards: <u>Adult Educator of the Year, Community Educator of the Year,</u> and <u>Continuing Educator of the Year</u> are given in this category. Recipients include David Frost, Heather Young, Tawni Hyde, John C. Taylor, Colleen Croudy, John Anjewierden, Terry Rushton, Cindy Krueger, Russell Collett, Gary Wixom, Paul Peterson, Mark Marsing, Ted Ungricht, Russell Collett, Andy Shinkle, Nancy Larson, Brian Cheesman, Anna Wright, Luella Jones, Eva Kendrick, Heidi Clark, Jenny Chamberlain, Gerald L. Handy, Carol Achziger, Olena Hunt, and Jim Cloud.

JAMES BURGON MEMORIAL AWARD: This award honors the late James Burgon of Murray. The award will be given to an individual who best typifies the tremendous commitment to lifelong learning that characterized the life of James Burgon. A special emphasis of this award is the area of interagency/community partnerships and the degree to which the nominee has facilitated such arrangements. Past recipients of this award are Rhoda Deved, Judy Crocker, Teddi Safman, Jennie Barber, Ron Riding, Ann Sasich, Bill Walsh, Nikki Lovell, James Andersen, Lenora Plothow, Lynne McKenna, Lou Workman, Gaylin Rollins, Ronald Hermansen, Dennis Sampson, Dennis Hales, and Dan Johnson.

PRESIDENT'S AWARDS FOR EXEMPLARY SERVICE: Awards in this special category are given to those individuals who have demonstrated exemplary service to the association and/or the fields of adult, community, or continuing education. Deserving individuals who do not meet the specific criteria for the other awards are honored in this category. The most recent recipients of these awards are Gene Sysak, Florin Nielsen, Harley Paulson, Nikki Lovell, Steve Rutberg, Lenora Plothow, Sandra Grant, Marva Heaton, Ron Riding, Cora Lee Jckowski, Peter Langley, Loma Prince, Shauna South, Robert McGillivray, Dave Steele, Gaylin Rollins, Susan Anderson, Salt Lake Community College/Utah State Prison Draper, Cindy Krueger, Richard Lovell, the Utah CE Deans Council, Sue Myers, and Nate Southerland.

ISRAEL C. HEATON AWARD: This award honors Israel C. Heaton, a former BYU Professor and Utah community education leader. Israel is considered by many community educators to be the "Father of Community Education in Utah." The award is given to <u>an individual</u> who has made a substantial impact on the growth and development of community education in Utah. This award is not given every year. Past recipients of this award are

Terry Teigeler, Burton Olsen, Larry Horyna, Norman Hyatt, Ann Sasich, Judy Tukuafu, Jennie Barber, LaRue Gurr, Lynne McKenna, and Zada Haws.

SERVICE AWARDS: These awards are given to individuals who have completed 15 or 25 years of professional service in the fields of adult, community, or continuing education. Nominations must include the documented years of service for each nominee.

LARRY HORYNA AWARD FOR EXCEPTIONAL SERVICE TO UAACCE: This award honors Larry Horyna, a dedicated UAACCE leader for many years. The award is given to a member serving the UAACCE Board leadership who best represents exceptional service over many consecutive years for the continued development, growth, and success of UAACCE. Past recipients of this award are Larry Horyna, Burton Olsen, Ted Ungricht, and Sandra Grant.

2011 UAACCE AWARD NOMINATION FORM

Due to the Board by September 15th of each year

Name of Nominator	
Nominator's Institution	
Nominator's Address	
Nominator's Phone/Fax	
Nominator's Email	
Name of Nominee	
Award Category	
Nominee's Institution	
Nominee's Address	
Nominee's Phone/Fax	
Nominee's Email	

Reason(s) for Nomination: